Enemy Pie

Enemy Pie Is a funny book written by Derek Munson that is for the ages 6+. It talks about how a little boy was having a great summer until a new kid came in the neighbourhood. The kids name is Jeremy Ross and Jeremy isn’t the ideal nice person, he is not nice at all and laughed whenever the boy missed his shot in baseball and didn’t invite him to his party on the trampoline. The boy is mad so he tells his dad that this boy bullies him so then his dad tells shows him the best solution which is making enemy pie. When he makes it, the boy is playing outside and the next thing he needs to do is go and spend the day with Jeremy and be extra nice. They played and the boy realized Jeremy wasn’t that bad after all so when It was time for dessert, the boy said the pie was poisoned but he didn’t realize that his dad was trying to make them friends with a great pie. I can connect to this when the time I was playing with my friends and they left me to play with a guy that was my enemy. I wanted to get rid of him but in the end, we just became a group of friends. I also connected to another book that was really similar to this one and it was  called The Recess Queen. Also when Jeremy treats his “frenemy” nicely, it reminds me of videos and also stuff i have seen go on around the world through media. The last connection I made was when he made the enemy pie because on Social Media I have seen different people actually take videos of treating an enemy (not friend) nicely and give them food or other things.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *